Team Taniwha: the race run.

16 July 2014

The team and the Taniwha, 2014
Team Taniwha at the Kiwi base camp. Left to right: Iain Anderson (Manager), Ryan Chao (Diver), Ben Pocock (Engineer), Dominik Appel (Diver), Daniel Vochezer (Pilot), Antoni Harbuz (Captain), Marcus Thompson (Surface Support Diver).

An eventful week! Despite gear failure and several crashes we kept the sub operational to the end.

On Friday night we won the trophy for “Best non-propeller performance”, and our sub came 7th out of 10. The top 5 subs completed the course around QinetiQ’s 120 metre long by 60 metre wide Ocean Basin, and on Thursday, Taniwha almost succeeded in becoming the 6th sub to complete the course when the rudder handle broke. Despite this gear failure our pilot gallantly steered the sub by pulling on the rudder cable. The trip came to an end only 40 metres from the finish when he ran into a ladder at the poolside. Our sub has no reverse gear so he was forced to pop the safety buoy and evacuate!

We’d like to say thanks
to our supporters for helping to make this possible: Air NZ, Dive NZ Magazine, GVI Logistics, I Measure U, Jackson Electrical Industries Ltd., Pope Packaging, PPG Industries, Stretchsense Ltd., and from the University of Auckland; the Auckland Bioengineering Institute, the Department of Engineering Science, and the Centre for Advanced Composite Materials.

What next?
The International Submarine Race in the USA in June 2015.


For more on the Taniwha team and the races: