Auckland Bioengineering Institute


Our people

Underscoring its nature as a multi-disciplinary research institute, the Auckland Bioengineering Institute hosts a range of academic, scientific, technical and administrative staff. Many of our academic staff hold joint appointments in Engineering Science, Physiology, and Anatomy with Radiology and are key participants in international research collaborations such as the IUPS Physiome Project.

Primary contacts


peter-hunter-2010-200sq

Director
Professor Peter Hunter

Email: p.hunter@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 8395

Dr David Budgett

Technology Development Leader
Associate Professor David Budgett

Email: d.budgett@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 5116

Justin-Fernandez-2011-200sq

Associate Director Postgraduate
Dr Justin Fernandez

Email: j.fernandez@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 9196

Hashem Yousefi

Postgraduate representative
Hashem Yousefi

Email: hyou267@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 5122
 

Dr Merryn Tawhai

Deputy Director
Professor Merryn Tawhai

Email: m.tawhai@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 5119

Dr Leo Cheng

Associate Director Research     
Associate Professor Leo Cheng 
Email: l.cheng@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 7101

Jason Turuwhenua

Associate Director Māori
Dr Jason Turuwhenua

Email: j.turuwhenua@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 5807

Nina Pettersson-Fox

Doctoral Training Programme Co-ordinator
Nina Pettersson-Fox

Email: n.pettersson-fox@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 3836

natalie-solomona-2015-200sq

Research Operations Manager
Mrs Natalie Solomona
Email: n.solomona@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6556

stephen-olding-2014-200sq

Technical Manager
Stephen Olding

Email: s.olding@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 5808

General enquiries
Email: bioeng-enquiries@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 3175 or 923 6369

suman-nath-2010-250x250

Administration Manager
Suman Nath
Email: s.nath@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6515

maria-fung-2010-250x250

Finance Manager
Ms Maria Fung

Email: m.fung@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 3015

matt-wilson-2014-250x250

IT Manager
Matt Wilson

Email: matt.wilson@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 2165

Staff, students and alumni


  • Researchers

    The principal investigators, research fellows, research associates, honorary members and clinical affiliates of the Auckland Bioengineering Institute.

  • Students

    Auckland Bioengineering Institute doctoral and masters students, their thesis topics and their supervisors.

  • Professional staff

    Meet the people who provide vital support for the Institute’s research goals and day-to-day activities.

  • Alumni

    Meet some of the alumni of the Auckland Bioengineering Institute. Find out what they did while they were with us, and their destinations.

  • Interns

    Meet some of our interns.

  • Search

    Search for members of the Auckland Bioengineering Institute.