Auckland Bioengineering Institute


Our people

Underscoring its nature as a multi-disciplinary research institute, the Auckland Bioengineering Institute hosts a range of academic, scientific, technical and administrative staff. Many of our academic staff hold joint appointments in Engineering Science, Physiology, and Anatomy with Radiology and are key participants in international research collaborations such as the IUPS Physiome Project.

Primary contacts


Peter Hunter

Director

Professor Peter Hunter
Email: p.hunter@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 8395 (DDI)

 

David Budgett

Technology Development Leader

Associate Professor David Budgett
Email: d.budgett@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 5116 (DDI)

 

David Long

Associate Director Postgraduate

Dr David Long
Email: d.long@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 1818 (DDI)

 

Rhys Williams

Postgraduate representative

Rhys Williams
Email: rwil267@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 3499 (DDI)

 

Merryn Tawhai

Deputy Director

Professor Merryn Tawhai
Email: m.tawhai@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 5119 (DDI)

 

Thor Besier

Associate Director Research

Associate Professor Thor Besier
Email: t.besier@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 6953 (DDI)

 

Jason Turuwhenua

Associate Director Māori

Dr Jason Turuwhenua
Email: j.turuwhenua@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 5807 (DDI)

 

General enquiries

Email: bioeng-enquiries@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 5360 (DDI)

Staff, students and alumni


  • Researchers

    View the listing of the members of our multidisciplinary research teams.

  • Students

    The Institute has over 50 graduate students from New Zealand, Australia, Germany, South Korea and the United States.

  • Professional staff

    Details of the staff that support the Institute’s activities and research programme.

  • Alumni

    Meet some of the student and staff alumni who contributed to the Auckland Bioengineering Institute's research activities from late 2010 onwards.