Auckland Bioengineering Institute


Our people

Underscoring its nature as a multi-disciplinary research institute, the Auckland Bioengineering Institute hosts a range of academic, scientific, technical and administrative staff. Many of our academic staff hold joint appointments in Engineering Science, Physiology, and Anatomy with Radiology and are key participants in international research collaborations such as the IUPS Physiome Project.

Primary contacts


peter-hunter-2010-200sq

Director
Professor Peter Hunter

Email: p.hunter@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 8395

david-budgett-2009-250x250

Technology Development Leader
Associate Professor David Budgett

Email: d.budgett@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 5116

David-Long-2009-250x250

Associate Director Postgraduate
Dr David Long

Email: d.long@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 1818

Rhys-Williams-2014-250x250

Postgraduate representative
Rhys Williams

Email: rwil267@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 3499
 

Merryn-Tawhai-250x250

Deputy Director
Professor Merryn Tawhai

Email: m.tawhai@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 5119

Thor-Besier-2011-250x250

Associate Director Research
Associate Professor Thor Besier

Email: t.besier@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6953

Jason-Turuwhenua-2011-250x250

Associate Director Māori
Dr Jason Turuwhenua

Email: j.turuwhenua@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 5807

Nina Pettersson-Fox

Doctoral Training Programme Co-ordinator
Nina Pettersson-Fox

Email: n.pettersson-fox@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 3836

natalie-solomona-2015-200sq

Research Operations Manager
Mrs Natalie Solomona
Email: n.solomona@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6556

stephen-olding-2014-200sq

Technical Manager
Stephen Olding

Email: s.olding@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 5808

General enquiries
Email: bioeng-enquiries@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 3175 or 923 6369

suman-nath-2010-250x250

Administration Manager
Suman Nath
Email: s.nath@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 6515

maria-fung-2010-250x250

Finance Manager
Ms Maria Fung

Email: m.fung@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 3015

matt-wilson-2014-250x250

IT Manager
Matt Wilson

Email: matt.wilson@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 2165

Staff, students and alumni


  • Researchers

    View the listing of the members of our multidisciplinary research teams.

  • Students

    We have over 70 graduate students from around the world, including New Zealand, Australia, Germany, Iran, China and the United States.

  • Professional staff

    Details of the staff that support the Institute’s activities and research programme.

  • Alumni

    Meet some of the student and staff alumni who contributed to our research activities.

Search