Auckland Bioengineering Institute


Researchers

The Auckland Bioengineering Institute is a world leader in computational physiology and biomedical engineering. Our teams of researchers have developed computer models of the heart, lung, digestive, and musculo-skeletal systems to further understanding of human health and disease.

Our researchers have also developed novel imaging applications and instrumentation systems to support these initiatives. Working closely with medical professionals, we are creating patient-specific models to improve disease prognosis and therapy, constructing systems for surgical planning, and developing products and services customised to individual anatomy.

Principal Investigators and Research Fellows (A-H)


Contact the University of Auckland switchboard on +64 9 373 7599 and then dial the extension for the person you require.

Name Position Extension Email
Associate Professor Iain Anderson Principal Investigator 82465 i.anderson@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Tim Angeli Research Fellow 89742 tang010@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Dr Habib Yusufi Baluwala Research Fellow
89241 h.baluwala@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Thor Besier Principal Investigator 86953 t.besier@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Gib Bogle Senior Research Fellow 87030 g.bogle@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Bernard de Bono Principal Investigator 81863 bdeb574@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Dr Christopher Bradley Senior Research Fellow, Principal Investigator 89924 c.bradley@auckland.ac.nz
Dr David Brooks Research Fellow 85820 d.brooks@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor David Budgett Technology Development Leader 85116 d.budgett@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Judit Chamorro Servent Research Fellow 81863 j.servent@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Leo Cheng Principal Investigator 87101 l.cheng@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Alys Clark Aotearoa Research Fellow 84771 alys.clark@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Mike Cooling Research Fellow 81492 m.cooling@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Peng Du Research Fellow 87101 peng.du@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Justin Fernandez Senior Research Fellow 89196 j.fernandez@auckland.ac.nz
Dr June-Chiew Han Research Fellow 85102 j.han@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Kerry Hedges Research Fellow 84771 k.hedges@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Harvey Ho Research Fellow 82164 harvey.ho@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Peter Hunter Principal Investigator 88395 p.hunter@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Jagir Hussan Research Fellow 81863 r.jagir@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Principal Investigators and Research Fellows (J-P)


Contact the University of Auckland switchboard on +64 9 373 7599 and then dial the extension for the person you require.

Name Position Extension Email
Dr Jessica Jor Research Fellow 84651 j.jor@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Jennifer Kruger Research Fellow 89968 j.kruger@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Haribalan Kumar Research Fellow 84804 hkmu551@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Associate Professor Ian LeGrice Principal Investigator 86206 i.legrice@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Ho Yan (Alex) Leung Research Fellow 89825 alex.leung@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Denis Loiselle Principal Investigator 86202 / 86209 ds.loiselle@auckland.ac.nz
Dr David Long Principal Investigator 81818 d.long@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Simon Malpas Principal Investigator 86922 s.malpas@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Daniel McCormick Research Fellow 89825 d.mccormick@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Thomas McKay Research Fellow 88363 thomas.mckay@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Kumar Mithraratne Senior Research Fellow, Principal Investigator 83011 p.mithraratne@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Martyn Nash Principal Investigator 82550 martyn.nash@auckland.ac.nz
Dr David Nickerson Senior Research Fellow 81994 d.nickerson@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Poul Nielsen Principal Investigator 88391 p.nielsen@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Niranchan Paskaranandavadivel Research Fellow 89742 n.paskaranandavadivel@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Principal Investigators and Research Fellows (R-Z)


Contact the University of Auckland switchboard on +64 9 373 7599 and then dial the extension for the person you require.

Name Position Extension Email
Dr Bryan Ruddy Research Fellow 83010 b.ruddy@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Mark Sagar Director, The Laboratory for Animate Technologies 81661 m.sagar@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Gregory Sands Senior Research Fellow 81437 g.sands@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Vickie Shim Senior Research Fellow 86932 v.shim@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Bruce Smaill Principal Investigator 86302 b.smaill@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Vinod Suresh Principal Investigator 89746 v.suresh@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Andrew Taberner Principal Investigator 85024 a.taberner@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Merryn Tawhai Principal Investigator 85119 m.tawhai@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Mark Titchener Senior Research Fellow 85285 mark@tcode.auckland.ac.nz
Dr Kenneth Tran Research Fellow 85122 k.tran@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Mark Trew Senior Research Fellow 85114 m.trew@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Jason Turuwhenua Research Fellow 85807 j.turuwhenua@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Ehsan Vaghefi Research Fellow 89241 e.vaghefi@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Vicky Wang Research Fellow 84651 vicky.wang@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Alistair Young Principal Investigator 86115 a.young@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Ju Zhang Research Fellow 86916 ju.zhang@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Jichao Zhao Senior Research Fellow 83013 j.zhao@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Research staff


Contact the University of Auckland switchboard on +64 9 373 7599 and then dial the extension for the person you require.

Name Position Extension Email
Randall Britten Software Development Leader 83402 r.britten@auckland.ac.nz
David Bullivant
Software Engineer 86880

d.bullivant@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Richard Christie Software Project Leader 84210 r.christie@auckland.ac.nz
Barbara Curteis Research Nurse 85604 bjcurteis@clear.net.nz
Michelle Deacon Research Assistant 86916 m.deacon@auckland.ac.nz
Oleg Efimov Computer Graphics Artist 86880 o.efimov@auckland.ac.nz
Dane Gerneke Imaging and Special Projects Manager 86208 d.gerneke@auckland.ac.nz
Ratheesh Kalarot Software Engineer
86880

r.kalarot@auckland.ac.nz

Dixon Leung Research Assistant
89825 dleu006@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Helen Li Research Assistant 87103 xli230@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Sharif Malak Instrument Control Engineer 86767 s.malak@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Duane Malcolm Research Assistant 85604 d.malcolm@auckland.ac.nz
Linley Nisbet Senior Technical Officer 81729 l.nisbet@auckland.ac.nz
Wayne Pallas Research Engineer 84748 w.pallas@auckland.ac.nz
Rebecca Perwick Technician 81689 r.perwick@auckland.ac.nz
Ben Pocock Research Engineer 88363 b.pocock@auckland.ac.nz
Paul Roberts Research Engineer 83499 prob114@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Hugh Sorby Software Developer 84566 h.sorby@auckland.ac.nz
Tania Tian Research Assistant 87103 ytia593@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Ruchi Vyas Research Assistant
81499 rvya002@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Alan Wu Software Engineer 83529 alan.wu@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Tim Szu-Hsien Wu
Software Engineer 86880 twu051@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Tommy Yu Software Developer 83167 tommy.yu@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Research associates, honorary members and clinical affiliates


Name Position Phone Email
Dr Michael Bolland Honorary ABI member +64 9 443 3469 info@michaelboland.co.nz
Dr Kelly Burrowes
Honorary Senior Research Fellow +64 9 923 4771 k.burrowes@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Edmund Crampin Honorary Professor   edmund.crampin@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Rajarshi Das Senior Lecturer
Dept of Mechanical Engineering
+64 9 923 5094 r.das@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Paul Donaldson Professor
School of Medical Sciences
+64 9 923 4625 p.donaldson@auckland.ac.nz
Mark Finch Honorary ABI member 021 2415 736 mark.finch@imeasureu.com
Professor Elwyn Firth Professor
Dept of Sport and Exercise Science
+64 9 923 6856 e.firth@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Todd Gisby Honorary Research Fellow +64 9 634 1297 t.gisby@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Shawn Means Honorary Research Fellow +64 9 923 1498 s.means@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Kimberley Mellor Honorary ABI member   kelly.burrowes@cs.ox.ac.uk
Professor Willem Lammers Honorary ABI member +971 3 7039534 wlammers@uaeu.ac.ae
Dr Ben O'Brien Honorary Research Fellow +64 9 634 1297 ben@stretchsense.com
Dr Greg O'Grady Honorary ABI member +64 9 923 9790 gogr002@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Professor David Paterson Honorary ABI member +44 01865 272518 david.paterson@dpag.ox.ac.uk
Associate Professor Rocco Pitto Associate Professor, Clinical
School of Medicine
+64 9 276 0044 ext 8067 r.pitto@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Vijay Rajagopal Honorary Research Fellow  

v.rajagopal@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Glenn Ramsey Honorary ABI member   g.ramsey@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Oliver Rohrle Honorary ABI member   roehrle@simtech.uni-stuttgart.de
Professor Nicolas Smith Dean
Faculty of Engineering
+64 9 373 7599 ext 87924

np.smith@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Darren Hooks Honorary ABI member   d.hooks@auckland.ac.nz
Top