Auckland Bioengineering Institute


The Auckland Bioengineering Institute is a world leader in computational physiology and biomedical engineering. Our teams of researchers have developed computer models of the heart, lung, digestive, and musculo-skeletal systems to further understanding of human health and disease.

Our researchers have also developed novel imaging applications and instrumentation systems to support these initiatives. Working closely with medical professionals, we are creating patient-specific models to improve disease prognosis and therapy, constructing systems for surgical planning, and developing products and services customised to individual anatomy.

Principal Investigators and Research Fellows

A  |  B  |  C  |  D - G |  H - I  |  K   |  L  |  M  |  N  |  O - R |  S  |  T - U  |  V   |  W - Z

If calling from outside of the University, dial +64 9 3737 599 then the extension for the person you wish to speak to.

  Name Position Extension Email
A Dr Massoud Alipour Research Fellow 89122
  Associate Professor Iain Anderson Principal Investigator 82465
  Dr Tim Angeli Senior Research Fellow 89742
  Dr Koray Atalag Senior Research Fellow 89726

B Dr Thiranja Prasad Babarenda Gamage Research Fellow 84651
  Dr David Baddeley Senior Research Fellow
^ Associate Professor Thor Besier Principal Investigator 86953
  Dr Gib Bogle Senior Research Fellow 87030
  Dr Christopher Bradley Senior Research Fellow, Principal Investigator 89924
  Associate Professor David Budgett Technology Development Leader 85116
C Dr Bryan Caldwell
Research Fellow 85122

^ Dr Lily Chang
Research Fellow 83016
  Professor Leo Cheng Principal Investigator 87101
  Dr Julie Choisne
Research Fellow
  Dr Alys Clark Senior Research Fellow, Principal Investigator 84771
D Dr Bernard de Bono Associate Professor, Principal Investigator -
  Dr Peng Du Senior Research Fellow 87101
  Dr Justin Fernandez Senior Research Fellow, Principal Investigator 89196
  Dr Desney Greybe
Research Fellow 89122
  Dr Sarah-Jane Guild Senior Research Fellow
  Dr Peng Guo Research Fellow 81497
H Amir HajiRassouliha Research Fellow 83010
^ Dr June-Chiew Han Senior Research Fellow 85102
  Dr Kerry Hedges Research Fellow 84771
  Dr Harvey Ho Research Fellow 82164
  Professor Peter Hunter Principal Investigator 88395
  Dr Jagir Hussan Research Fellow 81863
K Dr Jennifer Kruger Senior Research Fellow 89968
^ Dr Haribalan Kumar Research Fellow 84760
L Associate Professor Ian LeGrice Principal Investigator 86206
^ Dr Ho Yan (Alex) Leung Research Fellow 89825
  Associate Professor Denis Loiselle Principal Investigator 86202 / 86209
M Professor Simon Malpas Principal Investigator 86922
  Dr Denys Matthies Research Fellow    
^ Dr Daniel McCormick Senior Research Fellow 89825
  Dr Kumar Mithraratne Senior Research Fellow, Principal Investigator 83011
N Associate Professor Suranga Nanayakkara Associate Professor
^ Professor Martyn Nash Principal Investigator 82550
  Dr David Nickerson Senior Research Fellow 81994
  Professor Poul Nielsen Principal Investigator 88391
O Dr Greg O'Grady Associate Professor
^ Dr Niranchan Paskaranandavadivel Research Fellow 81499
  Dr Paul Roberts Development Manager 86008
  Dr Samuel Rosset Senior Research Fellow 82616
  Dr Bryan Ruddy Research Fellow 82424
S Dr Soroush Safaei Research Fellow 85890
^ Associate Professor Mark Sagar Director, Laboratory for Animate Technologies 81661
  Dr Gregory Sands Senior Research Fellow 81437
  Dr Shameer Sathar
Research Fellow 81497
  Dr Vickie Shim Senior Research Fellow 86932
  Professor Bruce Smaill Principal Investigator 86302
  Dr Vinod Suresh Principal Investigator 89746
T Associate Professor Andrew Taberner Principal Investigator 85024
^ Professor Merryn Tawhai Principal Investigator 85119
  Dr Mark Titchener Senior Research Fellow 85285
  Dr Kenneth Tran Research Fellow 85122
  Dr Mark Trew Senior Research Fellow 85114
  Dr Jason Turuwhenua Senior Research Fellow 85807
V Dr Ehsan Vaghefi Research Fellow 89241
  Dr Ted Yeung Research Fellow 89122
  Professor Alistair Young Principal Investigator 86115
  Dr Ju Zhang Research Fellow 86916
  Haimo Zhang Research Fellow
  Dr Jichao Zhao Principal Investigator 86505

Research associates, honorary members and clinical affiliates

Name ABI position Home institution/company Email
Dr Michael Boland Honorary ABI member Orthopaedic & Hand Surgeon
Dr Kelly Burrowes
Honorary ABI member Senior Research Fellow, University of Oxford
Professor Edmund Crampin Honorary ABI member Systems Biology Laboratory Director, University of Melbourne
Dr Raj Das   Senior Lecturer, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Professor Paul Donaldson   Director, Molecular Vision Laboratory
Mark Finch Honorary ABI member Founder, IMeasureU
Professor Elwyn Firth   Professor, Department of Sport and Exercise Science
Dr Todd Gisby Honorary ABI member Chief Technical Officer, StretchSense
Dr Patrick Gladding    
Cardiologist, North Shore Hospital
Ross Green Honorary ABI member
Dr Yaodong Gu Honorary ABI academic
Research Academy of Grand Health, Ningbo University, China
Dr Geoffrey Handsfield
Honorary ABI member Whitaker Post-Doctoral Scholar
Dr Ernst-Frederich Markus Henke Honorary ABI member
Dr Darren Hooks Honorary ABI member Electrophysiology Cardiologist, Capital Coast District Health Board
Dr Bronwen Kelly
Honorary ABI member   -
Dr Shawn Means Honorary ABI member
Dr Kimberley Mellor Honorary ABI member Lecturer, Department of Physiology

Professor Willem Lammers Honorary Professor
Dr Jacob Munro Honorary ABI member Senior Lecturer, Department of Surgery
Dr MM Maran Honorary ABI member
Dr Ben O'Brien Honorary ABI member Chief Executive Officer, StretchSense
Dr Katja Oberhofer Honorary ABI member

Professor David Paterson   Professor of Cardiovascular Physiology, University of Oxford
Associate Professor Rocco Pitto Honorary Research Fellow Associate Professor, Clinical and Medical, Department of Surgery
Dr Vijay Rajagopal Honorary Research Fellow Senior Lecturer, Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, University of Melbourne

Professor Oliver Röhrle Honorary ABI member Professor for Continuum Biomechanics and Mechanobiology, Universität Stuttgart
Professor Nic Smith   Dean, Faculty of Engineering

Dr David Bullivant Honorary ABI member Software Engineer  
Dr Xueyuan Zhang Honorary ABI member
Research Software Engineer  
Mr Greg Cross Honorary ABI member
Werner Ollewagen
Honorary ABI member
Computer Graphic Artist
Tim Szu-Hsien Wu Honorary ABI member
Software Engineer
Dr Muhammad Jawed Honorary ABI member
Computer Vision Research Engineer  
Oleg Efimov Honorary ABI member
Computer Graphics Artist
Daniel Xu Honorary ABI member    
Karin Nielsen Honorary ABI member