Auckland Bioengineering Institute


Researchers

The Auckland Bioengineering Institute is a world leader in computational physiology and biomedical engineering. Our teams of researchers have developed computer models of the heart, lung, digestive, and musculo-skeletal systems to further understanding of human health and disease.

Our researchers have also developed novel imaging applications and instrumentation systems to support these initiatives. Working closely with medical professionals, we are creating patient-specific models to improve disease prognosis and therapy, constructing systems for surgical planning, and developing products and services customised to individual anatomy.

Principal Investigators and Research Fellows (A-C)


If calling from outside of the University, dial +64 9 3737 599 then the extension for the person you wish to speak to.

Name Position Extension Email
Associate Professor Iain Anderson Principal Investigator 82465 i.anderson@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Tim Angeli Research Fellow 89742 t.angeli@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Koray Atalag Senior Research Fellow 89726

k.atalag@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Habib Yusufi Baluwala Research Fellow 89241 h.baluwala@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Thor Besier Principal Investigator 86953 t.besier@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Gib Bogle Senior Research Fellow 87030 g.bogle@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Christopher Bradley Senior Research Fellow, Principal Investigator 89924 c.bradley@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor David Budgett Technology Development Leader 85116 d.budgett@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Bryan Caldwell
Research Fellow 85122

b.caldwell@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Judit Chamorro Servent Research Fellow - j.chamorro-servent@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Leo Cheng Principal Investigator 87101 l.cheng@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Alys Clark Aotearoa Research Fellow 84771 alys.clark@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Mike Cooling Research Fellow 81492 m.cooling@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Principal Investigators and Research Fellows (D-Le)


If calling from outside of the University, dial +64 9 3737 599 then the extension for the person you wish to speak to.

Name Position Extension Email
Dr Bernard de Bono Principal Investigator - b.debono@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Peng Du Research Fellow 87101 peng.du@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Justin Fernandez Senior Research Fellow, Principal Investigator 89196 j.fernandez@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Sarah-Jane Guild Senior Research Fellow
81438/84584 s.guild@auckland.ac.nz
Dr June-Chiew Han Research Fellow 85102 j.han@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Kerry Hedges Research Fellow 84771 k.hedges@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Harvey Ho Research Fellow 82164 harvey.ho@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Peter Hunter Principal Investigator 88395 p.hunter@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Jagir Hussan Research Fellow 81863 r.jagir@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Jessica Jor Research Fellow 84651 j.jor@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Jennifer Kruger Research Fellow 89968 j.kruger@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Haribalan Kumar Research Fellow 84760 h.kumar@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Sandy Lau
Research Fellow 84584 s.lau@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Ian LeGrice Principal Investigator 86206 i.legrice@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Ho Yan (Alex) Leung Research Fellow 89825 alex.leung@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Principal Investigators and Research Fellows (Lo-R)


If calling from outside of the University, dial +64 9 3737 599 then the extension for the person you wish to speak to.

Name Position Extension Email
Associate Professor Denis Loiselle Principal Investigator 86202 / 86209 ds.loiselle@auckland.ac.nz
Dr David Long Principal Investigator 81818 d.long@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Simon Malpas Principal Investigator 86922 s.malpas@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Daniel McCormick Research Fellow 89825 d.mccormick@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Kumar Mithraratne Senior Research Fellow, Principal Investigator 83011 p.mithraratne@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Martyn Nash Principal Investigator 82550 martyn.nash@auckland.ac.nz
Dr David Nickerson Senior Research Fellow 81994 d.nickerson@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Poul Nielsen Principal Investigator 88391 p.nielsen@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Greg O'Grady Senior Research Fellow 89790 greg.ogrady@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Niranchan Paskaranandavadivel Research Fellow 81499 n.paskaranandavadivel@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Paul Roberts Research Fellow 86008 paul.roberts@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Bryan Ruddy Research Fellow 82424 b.ruddy@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Principal Investigators and Research Fellows (S-Z)


If calling from outside of the University, dial +64 9 3737 599 then the extension for the person you wish to speak to.

Name Position Extension Email
Dr Soroush Safaei Research Fellow 81497 soroush.safaei@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Mark Sagar Director, The Laboratory for Animate Technologies 81661 m.sagar@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Gregory Sands Senior Research Fellow 81437 g.sands@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Vickie Shim Senior Research Fellow 86932 v.shim@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Bruce Smaill Principal Investigator 86302 b.smaill@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Vinod Suresh Principal Investigator 89746 v.suresh@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Andrew Taberner Principal Investigator 85024 a.taberner@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Merryn Tawhai Principal Investigator 85119 m.tawhai@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Mark Titchener Senior Research Fellow 85285 mark@tcode.auckland.ac.nz
Dr Kenneth Tran Research Fellow 85122 k.tran@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Mark Trew Senior Research Fellow 85114 m.trew@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Jason Turuwhenua Research Fellow 85807 j.turuwhenua@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Ehsan Vaghefi Research Fellow 89241 e.vaghefi@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Vicky Wang Research Fellow 84651 vicky.wang@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Alistair Young Principal Investigator 86115 a.young@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Ju Zhang Research Fellow 86916 ju.zhang@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Jichao Zhao Senior Research Fellow 86505 j.zhao@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Research associates, honorary members and clinical affiliates


Name ABI position Home institution/company Email
Dr Michael Boland Honorary ABI member Orthopaedic & Hand Surgeon info@michaelboland.co.nz
Dr Kelly Burrowes
Honorary ABI member Senior Research Fellow, University of Oxford kelly.burrowes@cs.ox.ac.uk
Professor Edmund Crampin Honorary ABI member Systems Biology Laboratory Director, University of Melbourne edmund.crampin@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Raj Das   Senior Lecturer, Department of Mechanical Engineering r.das@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Paul Donaldson   Director, Molecular Vision Laboratory p.donaldson@auckland.ac.nz
Mark Finch Honorary ABI member Founder, IMeasureU mark.finch@imeasureu.com
Professor Elwyn Firth   Professor, Department of Sport and Exercise Science e.firth@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Todd Gisby Honorary ABI member Chief Technical Officer, StretchSense todd@stretchsense.com
Dr Patrick Gladding Honorary ABI member Cardiologist, North Shore Hospital
-
Dr Darren Hooks Honorary ABI member Electrophysiology Cardiologist, Capital Coast District Health Board d.hooks@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Bronwen Kelly
Honorary ABI member   -
Dr Shawn Means Honorary ABI member   s.means@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Kimberley Mellor Honorary ABI member Lecturer, Department of Physiology

k.mellor@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Willem Lammers Honorary Professor   wlammers@uaeu.ac.ae
Dr Jacob Munro Honorary ABI member Senior Lecturer, Department of Surgery jacob.munro@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Ben O'Brien Honorary ABI member Chief Executive Officer, StretchSense ben@stretchsense.com
Professor David Paterson   Professor of Cardiovascular Physiology, University of Oxford david.paterson@dpag.ox.ac.uk
Associate Professor Rocco Pitto   Associate Professor, Clinical and Medical, Department of Surgery r.pitto@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Vijay Rajagopal Honorary Research Fellow Senior Lecturer, Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, University of Melbourne

vijay.rajagopal@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Glenn Ramsey Honorary ABI member   g.ramsey@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Oliver Röhrle Honorary ABI member Professor for Continuum Biomechanics and Mechanobiology, Universität Stuttgart roehrle@simtech.uni-stuttgart.de
Professor Nic Smith   Dean, Faculty of Engineering

np.smith@auckland.ac.nz

Top